Tolerance

Not the ability to understand and empathise with others of different, backgrounds, creeds or beliefs, but the ability to just take the endless nonsense that continually goes on. The ability to accept the banality of nothing happenings.

I seem to have the ability to accept the lack of excitement, beauty or even feeling.

I can go from day to day, month to month and year to year without anything happening.

People around me can’t take 6 months without a week in the sunshine, a skiing holiday or tour of the outback.

I know people who can’t stand a week without a party in a wine bar, a pub crawl or a “night out with the lads”.

Then there’s Neil. My friend Neil had the ability to accept that nothing at all would happen in his life.

At least I would go on holiday for a few days every now and again. I’d “take a drink” on a Friday night. I go to the cinema occasionally.

Neil didn’t. He would be happy to sit at home and read a book, go for a walk and play the occasional game of scrabble.

I was looking at the rain and grey life of people in the North and thought about a weekend I spent in London once. There was excitement at every corner. Cafes, wine bars and restaurants. The life was one of constant stimulation and wonder.

Walking through the rain to the corner shop to buy a loaf of bread and a pint of milk, my mind wanders to the life of the rich and famous. There is no way millionaires wander in the rain, with a headache to buy milk.

Leave a Reply

